34 comments on ““Backpacking” Travellogue @ Uniquely Singapore : Universal Studio, Merlion Park/City Hall & Orchard Road!

  1. Cultural melting pot and dazzling example of the region’s economic successes, wealthy Singapore assails the senses of the first time visitor.

    The former British trading post and colony has carved a unique niche for itself in its two short centuries of existence, nowadays offering a vivid combination of ultra-modern skyscrapers, remnants of tropical rainforest and colourful ethnic urban areas, each with a character very much of their own.

    One of the most noticeable features of this tiny but bustling city-state is its cleanliness – indeed, it is sometimes criticised for its many seemingly petty regulations, such as the banning of chewing gum – but crime is virtually unknown, and it is one of the world’s safest places to visit.

    Despite its rather sanitised reputation, though, Singapore is anything but dull. The visitor is spoilt for choice, for things to see and do, and in terms of vibrant nightlife, its rich cultural mix, and a whole planet’s worth of culinary experiences.
    Singapore is a veritable feast for the senses, a heady mixture of the familiar and the exotic. It suits all budgets, too, presenting a happy collision of opposites – grand and expensive at the famed Raffles Hotel, but low-key and cheap (but good) in the food markets of Bugis Junction and Clarke Quay.

  2. SG is great place to visit. Love the way you put everything together. Definitely coming back for more reading 🙂

  3. Hola.. how r u? been quite long time I haven’t come here. More like silent readers….I like the statement :

    “Now, everyone can go abroad provided time and brilliant financial budgeting. Traveling either locally or abroad is good; it opens your horizon to an alien atmosphere and let you to have a peekaboo of the cultures and heritages lie on these places you are never being exposed towards to. I have make promise to make myself amenable for all these diversified cultural-tasting experiences; just to enrich my thinking horizon and explore the world out from my cocoon!”

    TRUE!

    amazing piece like usual Shahrill! well done. Always enjoy your articles.

    • Hi Shahrill,

      Thank you for mentioning us in your blog post. Just to clarify, the shuttle bus tickets are not sold online only but also offline at the Odyssey bus counter at our hotel.

      Unfortunately, on the date you arrived, bus tickets were sold out. In future, it would be best to book your tickets ahead when you book your room online to avoid missing out 🙂

      Glad you had a great time in Singapore.

      Regards,
      Biresh Vrajlal
      http://www.tunehotels.com

      • Biresh : Yes the service provided in the hotels was good and we were very thankful to the advices given by your staff named Fyda. However, we did approach Odyssey bus counter as well on 1st February the day we arrived at the hotel and were told that only online-purchasers were given priority.

        After some coaxing, the girl counter agreed to let us “squeezed’ in but with no promises since if the online purchaser were to come, we would be automatically thrown-off. After an hour or so, we went back to the counter (after deliberating and discussing)but were shunned off by a more superior girl-counter (senior, I guess)that the non online-purchaser were NOT ENTITLED. So, that was the story.

        But on whole, kudos. 🙂

    • Salam … nak tanya yg patung budak-budak nak lompat ke dalam laut tu kat mana ye? Apa namanya? Mcmana nak gi situ dgn public transport?

  4. kaknoor : yes..itu di tepian Sungai Utama di Singapura di City Hall. Berdekatan dengan Raffles Place. Boleh sampai di situ dengan menaiki jaringan MRT dan berhenti di Raffles Place. Jalan sikit dalam 0.5KM (500 meter) dah jumpa…

  5. Magnifito! Wonderfulto! Gorgeusto! You beat me here…I haven’t been to this place which is supposed to be my destination last Dec…anyway thanks for sharing this ..make me impatiently waiting for the next break so that I could visit Uni Studio too..

  6. Queenbee : I only cash-out RM500 for $200++…takhabis pun…but the fee for Universal Studio should cost approximately RM200 per person…and we didn’t eat/stay at Singapore so OKla…Tune if not mistaken around RM200++ per person kot (not sure x kira with my sister lagi) but depends on your addition (TV, aircond…)= airAsia concept.

    • Hi Shahrill, I just chance upon your blog and it’s fascinating to read about my country from another perspective. I’ve never look at Singapore the way you did as it has all been all too familiar. Apparently I’m more intrigued about KL and so fascinated to be around so many Malays.
      You’ve provided very good read for your ardent readers and you should write more. Give me a buzz the next time you’re planning a trip here. I could help you walk through the off beaten track in Singapore.
      BTW, Singaporean don’t really spend in Sentosa. We get all our needs at VivoCity and bring them into the island.

      Pepsi @ Vivo = SGD1
      Pepsi @ Sentosa = SGD5

      Cheers!!!

      • Hi Aeqmal. Well yes, I guess it’s natural for people to get enchanted and fixated with alien surroundings, aite? Hahahha I can understand your fascination about being surrounded with Malays. As for me, the situation being surrounded by a lot of chinese isn’t that strange because I was born and bred in Penang. Thanks for your kind words. I just write because I love to write and for my own reflection about my life when I have free time. LOL! Thanks for the useful info. I am sure I’ll be back to Singapore in the upcoming time. Thanks 🙂

  7. wow it’s like entering Disneyland rm200 no….but worth it la cos so beautiful and so realistic like the replica of the ori Universal Studio..yeah I have stayed in Tune but its about rm200 per night thats expensive la or u guys top up everything

  8. Shahrill, I enjoy your writing and the pictures. I definitely will be your reader from now on. Everything is well-worded and amazing poses….modelling?

    And the blog is cool with the music…PYAP!!!!! (bondage, yeah?) 🙂

  9. im about to go there next week. is it permmitted by tune hotel to take shuttle bus without staying?n the van u take.. is it comfortable?im not buying the USS ticket yet as im afraid something might happen on the date that make us cancel n loss.

  10. Rina : I am not sure. If I am not mistaken, you have to book with tune Hotels and to stay there as well and it’s only special for online purchasers. Nonetheless, you better check with Tune Hotels people themselves 🙂

  11. from 23rd-28th oct’12 we–3adults, 2kids age 8 &5 yrs, will stay in Ecco hotel, 85 beach road. bugis. should we book online tkts for universal studio/sentosa island, night safari etc. how to take shuttle bus to univ studio pl.any other paces of interesr for children pl thanks surinder

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.